Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Electrical Help Needed in Phoenix Area
Forum Index -> Beetle - Late Model/Super - 1968-up Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
vin man
Samba Member

PostPosted: Tue Oct 16, 2018 6:47 pm    Post subject: Electrical Help Needed in Phoenix Area Reply with quote

I've been working on our 73 Standard Beetle on and off for a few years now. It is my son's and my father/son project.

I've built and installed the motor, done the brakes, fuel system, shocks and other bits.

I'm at the point where the electrical needs to be completed and I'm just out of my league. I've followed the Bug-Me video series but just seem to have a mental block on doing the wiring.

The interior is out of the car and I'm looking for someone to come and wire all the lights, gauges, etc properly. The prior owner did purchase a new wiring harness and I have that in the car, but I have no idea where to make the connections.

If you would be interested in taking on the wiring, please let me know and consider what you would charge me to do it. My son starts driving in the spring and I want him to be able to take his first solo drive in the Bug next fall.

Thanks.

-Vinny
Gilbert, Arizona
72 Porsche 914
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address Classifieds Feedback
Tim Donahoe
Samba Member

PostPosted: Tue Oct 16, 2018 7:24 pm    Post subject: Re: Electrical Help Needed in Phoenix Area Reply with quote

Vinyl, the newer type wiring diagrams had me a bit stumped, but I studied some of the older type diagrams, and the made it all much easier to comprehend.

Get an Orange Bentley, and go through the older type wiring diagrams. Then check out your particular year’s diagram. It’s not that difficult.