Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Running poorly after fuel line replacement, Seafoam? SOLVED
Page: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next
Forum Index -> Vanagon Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
vwrhodie
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sat Nov 10, 2018 10:52 pm    Post subject: Running poorly after fuel line replacement, Seafoam? SOLVED Reply with quote

Hello everyone. DISCLAIMER: TOTAL NOOB and needs everything thooooooroughly explained.) I have an '85 Vanagon w/ 1.9 engine. She has not been driven regularly for a month now. Here is why: I recently replaced all fuel lines, added a barb fitting to the fuel line where plastic line meets 7mm line behind the firewall), did an oil and oil filter change, put on new breather hose, and did a wonky muffler patch w/ aluminum can... but engine now shakes and sputters out of first gear, especially when giving it gas. If I can get her into second gear and lay on the gas kinda hard, she will fly but once again... very shaky engine at idle and seems to get weaker when idling for a few minutes, major issues when letting off the clutch and giving it gas to first get going... even idling doesnt sound too bad but slowly starts to lose power/misfire. Shes running pretty hot, I took her around the block twice and she was very hot. Bumper wasnt hot to the touch but engine was... maybe this is a norm for vanagons, not sure.

I have been reading our threads for hours and compiling my to-do list for the morning, here is what it consists of:

*clean up and push nylon fitting into S boot (this is what it was called in another thread, not sure if I am even using the correct terms but mine comes out VERY easily and seems like its hardly in. Question Is the nylon lip around the edge supposed to go INSIDE or just push right up against it?)