Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

rebuild kit
Forum Index -> Performance/Engines/Transmissions Share: Facebook Twitter
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
zgmg54321
Samba Member

PostPosted: Tue Nov 20, 2018 11:12 pm    Post subject: rebuild kit Reply with quote

i have never built a vw motor before I have a 1600 dp type 1 right now what are your thoughts on this kit (part quality wise and price point) seemed reasonable to me but what the heck do I know its my first build... https://chircoestore.com/engine-rebuild-kit-1641cc.html

or does someone else sell a better kit I couldn't find anything with quiet as much in it

thanks in advance, zach
Vanillagurilla
Samba Member

PostPosted: Wed Nov 21, 2018 2:40 am    Post subject: Re: rebuild kit Reply with quote

Well it's not as simple as it sounds if your doing a bottom end rebuild as well. Motor needs to be torn down to a bare case and the mains checked or align bored just to get measured for your main bearing size before you can even order a kit. Same goes for the crankshaft. The could both already be 0.010 or more as it sits. You also are leaving an opportunity for "free" power like upgrading the cam shaft and bumping the compression. Even if your just wanting to rebuild a "stock" motor your going to need some special tools to go along with whatever kit you choose. If it was me I would just buy a piston and cylinder kit, tear it down, have the case and crank checked so you can order bearings, have the rods rebuilt/ checked and figure out a cam. New cam also means new lifters, once ran that lifter is a match for that cam lobe, same thing with rod caps. Are you just wanting to do it yourself?
Pruneman99
Samba Member

PostPosted: Wed Nov 21, 2018 3:08 am    Post subject: Re: rebuild kit Reply with quote