Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

starting to get play in my steering wheel
Forum Index -> Beetle - Late Model/Super - 1968-up Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
sb001
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sun Dec 02, 2018 6:26 pm    Post subject: starting to get play in my steering wheel Reply with quote

over the past couple of weeks I've noticed my steering has become loose, it used to be immediate reaction when I started to turn the wheel, now I have a good 15-20 degrees of rotation either way before I begin to feel any resistance. Is this a steering box issue or do I have worn suspension parts (ball joints etc.)
PS This all seemed to have started after taking those dirt back roads behind my neighborhood.

1969 autostick sedan, family owned since new
1600 SP engine
Solex 30 PICT 3 carburetor
Bosch 113905205AE autostick distributor
Max Welton
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sun Dec 02, 2018 7:17 pm    Post subject: Re: starting to get play in my steering wheel Reply with quote

Why ask us? You have the car in front of you.

Max
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Gallery Classifieds Feedback
Zundfolge1432 Premium Member
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sun Dec 02, 2018 7:24 pm    Post subject: Re: starting to get play in my steering wheel Reply with quote

You could have someone move the steering wheel back and forth gently while you crawl under car and look. Pay attention to steering coupler, tie rod ends but honestly sudden looseness is usually a coupler getting ready to fail. The other wear items progress slowly. I’ll be rebuilding front end on my 74 real soon because it’s shot. I can’t drive fast anymore which just breaks my heart. Very Happy
anilv
Samba Member