Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Can I use a spray gun designed for furniture for my car?
Forum Index -> Body/Paint Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
Sofia74
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sat Dec 08, 2018 3:28 pm    Post subject: Can I use a spray gun designed for furniture for my car? Reply with quote

I have a WoodRiver Pro HVLP Spray Gun designed for spraying furniture finishes. Has a 1.4 and 2.0 tips. Any reason I can't use this to paint the KG?

I tested some epoxy primer and it seemed to work fine. But I am new to this.

Thanks.
jinx758
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sat Dec 08, 2018 3:55 pm    Post subject: Re: Can I use a spray gun designed for furniture for my car? Reply with quote

Try it on a test piece first. Not only tip size but compressor size matters also. I am no expert by any means, having only painted 4 vehicles in my life. An HVLP gun spits high paint volume at low air pressure.
I always set up my cheap equipment using whole milk for testing on cardboard as it mimics the consistency of base coat. I usually end up with about 24psi continuous ( set while holding trigger & adjusting air & paint flow ) to get a nice fan pattern with good atomization. Overlap & hand speed play a role in getting good results. Be a methodical robot when you move your gun. Base coat / clear coat versus single stage makes a difference, too. I've only shot base / clear.

Most primers are thicker than paints.

practice, Practice, PRACTICE !

Good luck with your project ... jinx

It's not unlike the same difference

You can't push a rope

VALVES (cold)
CARB (fully warmed engine)

SCRAPE ALL GROUNDS

My Craigslist rescued 100 footer :
1971 Standard Bug
1776cc dual port
034 distributor
38mm EGAS Carburetor
Sofia74
Samba Member