Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

DIY: How To Remove an Early Bay Engine
Page: 1, 2, 3  Next
Forum Index -> Bay Window Bus Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
Stuartzickefoose
Samba Post Whore

PostPosted: Wed Dec 12, 2018 11:26 pm    Post subject: DIY: How To Remove an Early Bay Engine Reply with quote

Ratwell has a lovely late bay how to on pulling the engine (type 4) but I haven't seen a specific how to on a early bay. so, I figured it was due time. I am not an expert, I just pretend to be one here on the internets. This is not THE only way, but it is ONE way to get the engine out. this is a 1971 factory spec dual port doghouse style engine.

First step, tools.
Image may have been reduced in size. Click image to view fullscreen.

pictured are two 17mm wrenches (One a ratchet style, recommended)
one 8mm wrench
a 13mm socket
a 17mm socket
and a driver of some sort (impact gun, ratchet etc)
and a flat head and a phillips screw drivers.

not pictured is a floor jack, or an ATV or motorcycle jack.

first step, remove your bumper. this will require taking out the 4 lower bolts off the bottom of the brackets. they should be 17mm.

then take out the two 13mm bolts on the rear of the apron (rear means REAR OF VEHICLE) and the phillips screws along the top edge inside the engine bay. theres a few....

if you have not already, go ahead and remove your air cleaner:

next, after you have removed the positive battery cable from the post on the battery, you can pull the generator wiring off. three small wires, each with a different connector. a ring, a spade, and a slot type so you cant hook them up wrong very easily (though it can be done!)

don't loose this itty bitty guy:

the fuse holder seen here can be unplugged next, that's your backup or reverse lights: