Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

1978/1979 Westfalia or 1986-1991 Vanagon
Page: 1, 2, 3  Next
Forum Index -> Bay Window Bus Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
RVAGreen
Samba Member

PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2019 2:05 pm    Post subject: 1978/1979 Westfalia or 1986-1991 Vanagon Reply with quote

Help! Looking for guidance on my first bus purchase, total noob here.
Live in Virginia, have 2 littles, and would anticipate driving up the east coast (I-95, think: hot, sticky, traffic and through east coast mountains (Va/Blue Ridge, WV, Maine, VT)

I thought I had my heart set on 1978/1979 Westfalia, for that era my understanding: pros being better engine, 2 full beds, looks amazing! concerns: can I really safely travel with 2 littles, through east coast traffic in the summer time, up to Maine over the Mountains to Vermont? Would a manual or automatic be preferred and why?

I've just started to reconsider 1986-1991 Vanagon campers. I don't love the look nearly as much and I understand they aren't much better with respect to horse power, debatable if they are more reliable as the water cooled engines have an additional system to maintain, but do provide greater comfort (AC/heat)? Also, I believe they have seat belts to accommodate child seats?

So which would you recommend and why?
Thanks so much for your help!
SGKent Premium Member
Samba Member

PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2019 4:15 pm    Post subject: Re: 1978/1979 Westfalia or 1986-1991 Vanagon Reply with quote