Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Turbo charging a 1973 1600cc standard beetle (stock currently)
Forum Index -> Beetle - Late Model/Super - 1968-up Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
Parkerm463
Samba Member

PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2019 5:32 pm    Post subject: Turbo charging a 1973 1600cc standard beetle (stock currently) Reply with quote

Hi, I'm new to putting performance parts in a VW beetle. I would love advice on what I need to change in the engine before I buy a turbo kit and slap one in.
Buggeee
Samba Member

PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2019 6:09 pm    Post subject: Re: Turbo charging a 1973 1600cc standard beetle (stock currently) Reply with quote

I have not done it but did remember reading about what the engine would need to prepare it for a turbo kit on this web page at www.vwturbokits.com they have a link titled "what should I add for turbo use?" Basically it talks about strong valvetrain components.
SnowDaySyncro wrote:
Every setback is an opportunity to learn stuff and to buy new tools.
bluebus86
Banned

PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2019 9:16 pm    Post subject: Re: Turbo charging a 1973 1600cc standard beetle (stock currently) Reply with quote

one common modification is a reduction in compression ratio.

a very good book on the subject is Turbomania by Bob Tomlinson...

https://www.amazon.com/Turbomania-Bob-Tomlinson/dp/B0006EZBWW

Turbomania covers the VW Bug motor turbo charging upgrade well. It is an old book, but lots of good info on how to set up the motor. This should set you in the right direction.