Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

New to me '65 I have questions
Page: 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Forum Index -> Beetle - 1958-1967 Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
wdfifteen
Samba Member

PostPosted: Tue Mar 12, 2019 4:24 am    Post subject: New to me '65 I have questions Reply with quote

Image may have been reduced in size. Click image to view fullscreen.

I was a VW mechanic in my younger days, but I've been out of the game for 40 years. I'm retired now and have time, so a few weeks ago I bought this poor pimped-out '65.

The first job was to un-pimp the suspension and get it raised back to the correct height and get some decent wheels and tires. The front seems to ride a little high for some reason. Wheels are some 5.5" spares from my 356s. I have since rebuilt the front suspension, and new shocks all around.

The car has an H block engine. I need the rear engine sheet metal piece (goes over the muffler) and I need to know if a '65 rear engine sheet metal piece will fit on this wider engine. If so, where can I find one?

Is there a source for the internal seal on the door handles? I need the rectangular seals that fit around the button itself.

Thanks for any help.
Patrick
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Gallery Classifieds Feedback
SamboSamba22
Samba Member

PostPosted: Tue Mar 12, 2019 4:35 am    Post subject: Re: New to me '65 I have questions Reply with quote

Good morning Patrick,
Welcome to the Samba.
For the tin you are missing, is it the piece called the Breast Tin (Plate)? Usually a rule of thumb is to have the cutouts for the heater tubes on the earlier cars. I’m not a type 1 expert, so do some research.
Hope you gain knowledge and peace of mind here along with a bunch of other VW nuts.

- Sam

Oct. ’67 Double Cab (’68 Crew Cab)