Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

1989 Westy Makeover: GoWesty 2.3L Engine plus plus plus
Page: 1, 2, 3 ... 28, 29, 30  Next
Jump to:
Forum Index -> Vanagon Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
VdubVanner
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sat Mar 16, 2019 10:18 am    Post subject: 1989 Westy Makeover: GoWesty 2.3L Engine plus plus plus Reply with quote

Sigh: Yup, it's 30 years old with almost 200,000 miles on its 2.1L. And that engine recently started bleeding copious amounts of coolant and then oil in quick succession.

It's time! I've had this Westy for 25 great years and it needs some TLC. Trannie was done about 40,000 miles ago but this surgery is deeper and more extensive. I've been using the same mechanic for 36 years -- had a '73 passenger converted to camper before this ride -- but the labor rates have been going up over the years. That van, however, is my daily driver and only vehicle so time is of the essence.

$$$$ GULP!

GoWesty 2.3L engine incoming (I assumed a wooden crate would be used):

Image may have been reduced in size. Click image to view fullscreen.

Pray for me.
VdubVanner
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sat Mar 16, 2019 10:32 am    Post subject: Re: 1989 Westy Makeover: GoWesty 2.3L Engine plus plus plus Reply with quote

I should probably show the van, too.

I bought it with about 20,000 miles on it from a small town VW dealership in 1994. According to the back story, a nearby farmer with German origins had purchased it for a few cross-country trips with his wife and then it sat in a quonset hut on his farm for a few years with very little use.

Here it is, shoehorned into my tight 1940-ish garage (I had the rafters raised to get it in through the new door):