Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Syncro smashed. Insurance or Part Out?
Page: 1, 2, 3  Next
Forum Index -> Vanagon Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
Mathew Zelezen
Samba Member

PostPosted: Mon Jul 22, 2019 3:37 am    Post subject: Syncro smashed. Insurance or Part Out? Reply with quote

Not a great way to wake up at 4:00am this morning to find a vehicle in your yard and your beloved Syncro smashed to bits.

Apparently the driver fell asleep at the wheel on her way to work and thread the needle between a telephone pole and an iron fence and t-boned the driver's side of my van. I'm an ER nurse and have seen the traumas a MVA can generate but fortunately the air bags deployed and she walked away from a nasty crash. I live in the van and work as a travel ER nurse and was leaving on assignment on Wednesday.. well, not any more.

So I'm guessing my insurance company is going to want to write it off but I'm thinking I'd be better off parting out the Syncro drive train, decoupler and engine since these are untouched. Has anyone any experience in this situation? I don't want them to tow it away before I have a chance to come up with a game plan.

Image may have been reduced in size. Click image to view fullscreen.

Of all sad words of tongue or pen, the saddest are these: It might have been.
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Instagram Gallery Classifieds Feedback
JudoJeff
Samba Member

PostPosted: Mon Jul 22, 2019 3:45 am    Post subject: Re: Syncro smashed. Insurance or Part Out? Reply with quote

Get maximum settlement from insurance and then purchase it back. If they tell you you can't buy it back, pull the parts off anyway. (Engine, transmission, etc. ) Let them take the shell.
Worse case, stick a defunct engine in.