Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Fitting Axles... but Nothing Fits!
Page: 1, 2  Next
Forum Index -> Performance/Engines/Transmissions Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
Peter D.
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sat Sep 14, 2019 9:19 pm    Post subject: Fitting Axles... but Nothing Fits! Reply with quote

So I'm learning the hard way that fitting the swing axles wont be as easy as I thought! In fact, it's a total PITA! Evil or Very Mad I'm a novice at this an I'm also using a combination of new and old parts to bear with me.

My car is a 64 Ghia with a rebuilt pro-street transaxle.

#1)The driver's side axle tube fits well (new side cover) but I'm having trouble with the passenger side. With two gaskets its too tight all around. With three gaskets it binds on one side a little but has an almost free range up and down movement in the direction of tube travel once installed in the car. With four gaskets, no binding, but feels very lose all around. Also there's 1mm inner and outer move of the entire tube. I've tried every combination of paper gasket and I'm starting the think the side retainer is warped. But I put a straight edge on it and it looks flat.

#2) The other problem is with my used axles with new side gears and fulcrum plate. I can't get the axles into the side gear at all. The axles were sand blasted and the spade end isn't shiny or polished anymore so I think I need to wet sand it down? Radius the edges?

#3) Also, big problem: the new side gears will go about half way into the transaxle but stop. I took both snap rings out and there's no thrust washer or anything in the way. For what it's worth, the old side gears won't go in either. What the trick, hammer it in?!