Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

First bus purchase: From North Dakota to Florida
Page: 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Forum Index -> Bay Window Bus Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
TurkisMafia
Samba Member

PostPosted: Tue Sep 17, 2019 1:34 pm    Post subject: First bus purchase: From North Dakota to Florida Reply with quote

Image may have been reduced in size. Click image to view fullscreen.

After several months of looking we finally found our late bay. 1978 Westy Automatic, found right here on the Samba. One problem: the bus lived in North Dakota, and we live in Florida. Solution: a one way plane ticket to Bismarck. Sure it would be easier, and probably cheaper to ship it.. but what fun is that? A route was drawn up and off I went.

2,458 miles.. or so.

As an airline pilot by trade, this was a bit easier for my wife & I than most. I landed at JFK from a work trip to Scotland and headed directly to NoDak. I landed at about 9pm, the new owner scooped me up, and I owned the bus by 10.

I made it approximately a half mile down the road before I was pulled over. No, quite literally I was pulled over leaving the previous owners neighborhood. After 30 seconds of explanation of why I had no plates, and 5 minutes of chatting about how cool the bus was, he let me go and it was off to Walmart for supplies and sleep.

A quick stop at the airport to pick up the wife and pup, and we were headed south.

We headed down the road and it wasn’t long before the first issue. By the first fuel stop (after we had officially arrived in the middle of nowhere), it would appear we blew out a rear main seal... or something