Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

carb and Distributor combination on 74 standard
Page: 1, 2  Next
Forum Index -> Beetle - Late Model/Super - 1968-up Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
vette
Samba Member

PostPosted: Fri Nov 08, 2019 7:47 pm    Post subject: carb and Distributor combination on 74 standard Reply with quote

Hi everybody! I'm new to your party but been reading posts for awhile now. I just came into possession of a 74 standard running and in decent shape. Before I start taking things off I wanted to know if sending carb (H30/31 PICT) and dizzy (009) off to be redone, with one of you guys, is this a good combo or should I switch to something else. The engine is a rebuild with a tin plate over the # but I do know it's dual port.
This is all new to me so any advise is welcome. Thanks
Glenn Premium Member
Mr. 010

PostPosted: Fri Nov 08, 2019 7:51 pm    Post subject: Re: carb and Distributor combination on 74 standard Reply with quote

Save yourself some time and money and toss both in the trash. They're both aftermarket and not a good match.

Get a rebuilt GERMAN 34PICT-3 carb and rebuilt GERMAN 034 vacuum/mechanical distributor.

Stay away from the Chinese aftermarket.

It's cheaper to do it right for the first time.

Member #1009

#BlueSquare
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Gallery Classifieds Feedback
vette
Samba Member

PostPosted: Fri Nov 08, 2019 8:17 pm    Post subject: Re: carb and Distributor combination on 74 standard Reply with quote

Hi Glenn! I have read many of your replies and respect your advise. I have no idea how long this engine has been in the car but it does run pretty well. Take a look at the pictures and let me know. Thanks for your time!