Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Frozen rear brake drum on 71 Bus
Page: 1, 2  Next
Forum Index -> Bay Window Bus Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
Phillip3560
Samba Member

PostPosted: Thu Dec 19, 2019 8:36 am    Post subject: Frozen rear brake drum on 71 Bus Reply with quote

Hi All, I am a newbie to Samba but need advice on how to remove rusted rear brake drums from a 1971 bay window bus. The bus has been sitting for about 10 years and looking at the adjusting star, it is all rusted so brake shoes can't be backed off from drum. I have tried hammering around the drum and apply penetrating oil into the back of the backing plate. Also while the bus was on the ground, I used a very large torque wrench with socket and tried to apply enough torque to castle nut on each wheel to break the drum from the rust---no luck. Also got a gear puller and attached to studs from wheel hub but when I started tightening the gear puller, the axle shaft started moving into the brake drum so I am concerned that I will destroy the axle if I continue with this approach.
Any suggestions or help would be greatly appreciated.
Abscate
Samba Member

PostPosted: Thu Dec 19, 2019 8:49 am    Post subject: Re: Frozen rear brake drum on 71 Bus Reply with quote

Quote:
I used a very large torque wrench with socke

That’s the wrong tool. You want a breaker bar with a pipe extension, a six point sockets and heat, at least MAAP and if really stuck, oxyacetylene.

Push DOWN to loosen so that you increase traction as you apply torque.

Three hot cold cycles will help break up the corrosion holding it on, too.
hazetguy
Samba Member

PostPosted: Thu Dec 19, 2019 9:02 am    Post subject: Re: Frozen rear brake drum on 71 Bus Reply with quote