Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Berrien Cruiser with 1ZZFE Toyota 1.8L and mid travel coil over
Forum Index -> HBB Off-Road Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
biotex
Samba Member

PostPosted: Tue Jan 07, 2020 8:48 am    Post subject: Berrien Cruiser with 1ZZFE Toyota 1.8L and mid travel coil over Reply with quote

Thought i'd start a build thread so I can tap into the great minds available here. I have never built a rail or buggy before, but it is on my bucket list, so here goes.

I purchased a 4 seater Cruiser kit because I wanted extra space for an ice chest or whatever, and for more leg room as I'm 6'3'' . I think the storage closer to the front makes for better weight distribution as opposed to a pickup kit added on.

I own a hydraulic/air tube bender and a JD2 tube knotcher. My welding skills are poor, so I may have to hide some of the welds from you all. Rolling Eyes I unpacked the kit and after about 6 hours I had the pieces sorted out and tacked into place.

Previously I had been assembling a front end using combo link pin spindles and a 6" wider warrior front beam. The plan is to run coil over shocks all the way around.

Some pictures of the assembly:

Image may have been reduced in size. Click image to view fullscreen.

Please, please feel free to comment or advise me as I blindly move forward. I have much to learn.
biotex
Samba Member

PostPosted: Tue Jan 07, 2020 8:51 am    Post subject: Re: Berrien Cruiser with 1ZZFE Toyota 1.8L and mid travel coil over Reply with quote

I have a 1776 engine that is fresh from overhaul, and a 002 transmission also fresh. The plan was to run these, but then as luck would have it, a complete running car with a 1ZZFE 1.8L came my way. I checked with Kennedy adapters, and they support this combo, so that is what I will do.