Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

M-Tdi conversion,starter solenoid +12V electrical issue [Solved]
Forum Index -> Vanagon Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
ALIKA T3
Samba Member

PostPosted: Wed Jan 08, 2020 2:34 pm    Post subject: M-Tdi conversion,starter solenoid +12V electrical issue [Solved] Reply with quote

Happy New year to you all!

For those of you who know me, I've been working on my Syncro & conversion project for 10 years and have finally started the engine. ( 1985 2WD Van)
Plenty updates due but I will sit down when it finally runs to catch up with that as I decided to not spend so much time posting and more wrenching for completion for my 40th birthday coming very soon.

I have an issue with the starter solenoid wire ( ignition).

I installed a load relay kit in the engine bay ( kinda irrelevant but read on).

If I start the van with the key, 2 seconds after running, the solenoid engages again and makes the starter grind teeth!!

I unplugged the ignition switch and used another one: same issue.

I unplugged and left unplugged the ignition switch connector.

I applied 12vdc directly from the battery in the engine bay to the injection pump fuel shut off ( also a solenoid), unplugged the Vanagon factory starter solenoid wire and applied a temporary 12v to the starter relay to start the van.
While the engine is running, the factory wire has alternator voltage coming out of it!
How is it possible? It's unplugged from the ignition switch??
If I unplug the alternator blue wire while running, voltage drops to battery voltage.

I'm lost at where to look next as I did not modify any portion of this ignition switch starter solenoid wire :/

I feel like there's a relay interference somewhere, sometimes it doesn't not stay hot but most of the time it does.