Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

2276 engine build question
Forum Index -> Performance/Engines/Transmissions Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
Jellezwolle
Samba Member

PostPosted: Thu Jan 16, 2020 3:35 am    Post subject: 2276 engine build question Reply with quote

Hey guys!

I am new to the aircooled scene and have bought a 1970 early bay.

I wanna start building a 2276 engine for it, already have some parts and ideas!
Maybe you guys have some tips for the setup?

Here is the setup that I was thinking of:
2276 motor
94mm aa cilinders
82mm cw cb performance cranck
5.4” h beam rods
Cb 044 heads 44x37.5 CNC ported
Dual weber 48 idf carbs
Engle w130 cam
Straight cut cam gears

Hope to hear from you guys what you think!
madmike
Samba Member

PostPosted: Thu Jan 16, 2020 4:53 am    Post subject: Re: 2276 engine build question Reply with quote

I'd use thick wall 92mm cylinders,smaller cam too, buses need lower rpms cams
40X 35.5 heads will work too Wink but if u already have this stuff, and use it,, it may just run a little warm/hot on the Autobahn?
76 Drag/Street bug 2180cc 'Turbo' 11:85 @113 mph"If I go any faster I'll burn up the Hamster" ,gets 28 mpg. also 10/09/22 11.90 @115 mph
"If I'm ever on Life Support,UNPLUG Me, Then Plug me back In see if that Works"
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Gallery Classifieds Feedback
74 Thing
Samba Member

PostPosted: Thu Jan 16, 2020 7:51 am    Post subject: Re: 2276 engine build question Reply with quote

Which CB CNC ported heads?

I would look at a different cam. The 130 needs some compression and you can get better drivability and torque for a bus using a different camshaft.
Ohio Tom
Samba Member

PostPosted: Thu Jan 16, 2020 8:12 am    Post subject: Re: 2276 engine build question Reply with quote