Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

67 Ghia first start in 2-4 years
Page: 1, 2  Next
Forum Index -> Ghia Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
gatordub
Samba Member

PostPosted: Fri Apr 10, 2020 6:35 am    Post subject: 67 Ghia first start in 2-4 years Reply with quote

Hi all,
I’m a new member, long time reading, and new owner of a 67 Ghia.
The car has been sitting in a garage for 2-4 years due to the previous owner getting sick and passing away.
Prior to sitting I’m told the car was in immaculate shape. The engine turns over nicely... oil and plugs look good. The tank is a little nasty and will need to be refinished but I was thinking as a first step draining the tank and putting in some fresh gas. I'm new to Volkswagen ownership. What would you all recommend before trying to start the car? Fresh gas and a new battery then go from there?
I’ve attached some photos of the car and engine compartment.

Image may have been reduced in size. Click image to view fullscreen.

PolarBearVW
Samba Member

PostPosted: Fri Apr 10, 2020 6:57 am    Post subject: Re: 67 Ghia first start in 2-4 years Reply with quote

Awesome car!

Here are the things I do when I start up in the spring.

1. Check fuses under the steering wheel, give them a sight twist to get any oxidation/corrosion off them
2. Reach behind the fan shroud and make sure there isn't a big-ol mouse nest in the fan area. Check the air intake too.
3. Pull the battery, top it off, bench charge, clean the terminals
4. Grab a fire extinguisher (just in case)
5. When cranking don't hold on the key for more than 5 seconds. Your starter will heat up as you wait for fuel, stagger it out 5 seconds, wait 30 etc seconds...
6. I spray starter fluid or pour some gas in the carb neck to get some initial combustion to speed the fuel pull.