Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Putting Old Style Bumpers on Later Bugs?
Page: 1, 2, 3  Next
Forum Index -> Beetle - Late Model/Super - 1968-up Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
The Posh Mushroom
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sat May 09, 2020 6:35 pm    Post subject: Putting Old Style Bumpers on Later Bugs? Reply with quote

Hello, I'm a complete newbie but my googling couldn't turn anything up so I hope this topic hasn't been beaten to death here already Rolling Eyes

Anyways, I was wondering if there's any way to put the older style, taller bumpers (with the top bars) onto a later era beetle or even a super beetle. I think they look much much better than the "bladey" late 60s/early 70s bumpers. On the other hand, I much prefer the price of a later beetle or super beetle to the price of an earlier bug on which those bumpers were standard.

Does anyone know of a kit/product or DIY way to put older bumpers on a newer beetle? Thanks!
Glenn Premium Member
Mr. 010

PostPosted: Sat May 09, 2020 6:40 pm    Post subject: Re: Putting Old Style Bumpers on Later Bugs? Reply with quote

They look goofy.

Image may have been reduced in size. Click image to view fullscreen.

Member #1009

#BlueSquare
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Gallery Classifieds Feedback
Double-Double
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sat May 09, 2020 6:42 pm    Post subject: Re: Putting Old Style Bumpers on Later Bugs? Reply with quote

I am doing this on my Class-11 Style because I will be mounting LED KC lights to the towel bars and then raptor lining them black.
Failer
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sat May 09, 2020 6:57 pm    Post subject: Re: Putting Old Style Bumpers on Later Bugs? Reply with quote

There's adapters to hold the bumper, like these