Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Getting frustrated with this 32/36 Weber... need replacement
Page: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Forum Index -> Performance/Engines/Transmissions Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
Turnswrenches
Samba Member

PostPosted: Fri Jun 12, 2020 3:29 am    Post subject: Getting frustrated with this 32/36 Weber... need replacement Reply with quote

I've been tuning carbs for 35+ years and I have never had so much trouble trying to make something run right.
Previously seemed OK... but didn't go on any extended drives or long enough to get things good and hot.

Yesterday I took it for about a 30min ride and it started giving me issues again.

Plenty of heat to manifold, proper SVDA distributor, points/timing are spot-on, etc... yet I still have a stumble at tip-in and when secondary opens.

"I am done"

It should not be this much bull$hit to make a stock bug run right.

Can someone recommend a proper carb / intake kit that will run right out of the box ?

I have a bone stock, fresh 1641 dual port.

I am not too concerned about performance...(ie: dual carbs) I just want it to start, idle and run smooth through all the gears with the most simplicity. Will go duals if they can be made to run right.

I have an old original 34pict-3 carb and unknown intake... but dont trust it.

I want brand new stuff that is 100% reliable and correct.

What do I need to buy to make this car run nice ?

I am getting tired of wrenching on this thing and getting nowhere. I have an obscene amount of time and money into this car and im starting to feel like it may soon be time to pull the plug on this project.
I could have built a perfect running 67 Camaro by now... and feel maybe that would have been a smarter project. Embarassed