Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Restoring semaphores
Page: 1, 2  Next
Forum Index -> Beetle - Oval-Window - 1953-57 Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
Matts Bug Parts
Samba Member

PostPosted: Mon Jul 20, 2020 5:59 pm    Post subject: Restoring semaphores Reply with quote

Ok, first I want to say that I am looking for feedback in terms of the direction I should take regarding my expertise in restoring semaphores and my concerns about the quality/price/workmanship out there for those interested in this subject. So, my the questions I would like feedback about are at the botton of this.

Next, what has brought me to this point is as follows:

I have been restoring semaphores for over 20 years and have striven to perfect my craft and provide high quality restored semaphores using the best possible cores, quality restoration parts prices that reflect value. I am always upfront about what is done and what if any flaws or shortcomings there are. I am also seeking out the best possible reproduction parts on the market. In the last year I have observed the following that are of concern:

1) One MAJOR** seller on the Samba sells complete reproduction semaphores without any mention of this in the ad. While no false statements are made the absence of this information is, I think, worse. The same seller advertises SWF semaphore lens brass bulb holders that sadly are nit useable. The bulb holder is in place so that you can slide it open and closed to replace the bulb in-situ. The repro is crudely made without any way to grad it like you can the original. This feedback was provided to them by a customer of mine.