Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Help with a Van Purchase Today!
Page: 1, 2  Next
Forum Index -> Vanagon Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
Ellioup
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sat Aug 01, 2020 11:01 am    Post subject: Help with a Van Purchase Today! Reply with quote

Hi everyone,

I am new to Vanagons and want to be sure about a purchase I'm about to make. Please dm so we can talk on the phone.

I need some assurance as I'm about to drive 10 hours to go pick this car up.

Here is what I know
- Subaru 2.5 from a 2002 outback with 105k miles on it
- Needs new AC blowers
- Needs new fuel tank
- Title says Rebuilt Salvage, Loss unknown, Bonded Title (Does this just mean it was in an accident and that it has a new engine?)

Offer is 12k but want to make sure it's legit.
izzydog
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sat Aug 01, 2020 11:41 am    Post subject: Re: Help with a Van Purchase Today! Reply with quote

More info would be helpful:

-- photos or videos?

-- tintop or Westy?

A salvage title in some states will mean that you will have to have the authorities perform an inspection. Here in CA that means that there can be no cracks in ANY glass, no cracked or broken plastic on any lights or lenses and a host of other requirements like all the lights and blinkers working, horn, etc.

A salvage title could mean anything - including that someone got the van cheap after it was totaled and is attempting a fast buck.

Did you ask the seller about the title?

If you have the VIN, run a CarFax.

If it were me, I would request a photo of the title and close-up photos of the VIN tag on the dash along with the hidden VIN under the vehicle. If this is a junkyard gem, someone could get creative with the VIN on the dash which could also mean that it is stolen.