Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Aux battery for beginners
Page: 1, 2  Next
Forum Index -> Vanagon Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
randalieren
Samba Member

PostPosted: Mon Aug 17, 2020 10:25 am    Post subject: Aux battery for beginners Reply with quote

Hi folks. I want to install an aux battery and solar kit in my new-to-me '84 Vanagon. I was hoping to buy the kit from GW, but they are sold out and the more I read, the more I realize it might not be the best build. So it's looking like it's going to be a project for the autumn.

I'm pretty handy and I worked for a while on a (residential) solar installation crew, so I have some basic knowledge. But I'm not an electrician or an engineer and I'm a little bit overwhelmed by all of the options and schematics.

Is there a step-by-step resource out there for putting together a system from scratch?

Much thanks.
valvecovergasket
Samba Member

PostPosted: Mon Aug 17, 2020 10:43 am    Post subject: Re: Aux battery for beginners Reply with quote

blue sea has good diagrams that accompany their equipment

but you need a combiner of some sort and a second battery. id keep the chemistry the same as it makes things easier.

then a dedicated fusebox for your house battery loads is a good idea.

thats pretty much it for the most basic system.

have a look here
https://www.bluesea.com/support/articles/58/Battery_Isolators_and_Automatic_Charging_Relays

Image may have been reduced in size. Click image to view fullscreen.

i did a similar system to whats shown above. common ground bar for the house stuff, going back to the house batt with one large lead.