Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Total novice - '73 Baha build (<$10k)
Forum Index -> HBB Off-Road Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
cheaptat
Samba Member

PostPosted: Tue Jan 19, 2021 10:31 pm    Post subject: Total novice - '73 Baha build (<$10k) Reply with quote

Hi beautiful people,

Firstly, I apologize, I'm sure there is a conglomeration of resources on here covering what I am asking - but I was having trouble making sense of much of it.

I am inheriting a '73 VW bug, same owner since it was new, all original parts, and it runs but isn't very reliable.

Here is my deal, I have access to a shop (including sandblasting and painting), I have access to a mechanic in training (has been restoring cars for ~2 years at a professional shop), and I have a good income (so can happily spend ~10k here if necessary).

I live in northern California and my current inclination is to build an off road baha bug. I know for example I can install new mounts and a subaru engine. However, I don't know what of the other seemingly million options is a good idea...

In short, I have a strong technical background but I'm totally new to cars and was told this was the place to come - answers and thoughts on any of the above or the following would be met with so much gratitude!

1) What are good kits for my price range? Should I use kits at all?
2) What should I definitely upgrade/change?
3) What should I be careful of?
4) What are good upgrades for the drive train, suspension, brakes, clearance, general ride?
5) I am very open to cool suggestions - I want to have fun!!

Cheers in advance!
CT

P.S. I should add that I'd love to be able to race it at some point if that makes any difference
joemama
Samba Member