Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Camshaft help
Forum Index -> Performance/Engines/Transmissions Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
Sprocket78
Samba Member

PostPosted: Thu Feb 25, 2021 6:45 am    Post subject: Camshaft help Reply with quote

Hi all,
I've just been given a new camshaft for my 1800 type 1 build and I know nothing really about it. all I can find out is that it is .394 lift , 244 duration and 108 degrees centre. This is my first build (with help) with a fully forged and counterweighted bottom end and pistons @ 88 x 74 with P&P stock heads and dual 40 idf carbs.
Will this camshaft work or would I be advised to get another?
Cheers for the advice in advance
Ohio Tom
Samba Member

PostPosted: Thu Feb 25, 2021 7:42 am    Post subject: Re: Camshaft help Reply with quote

Tell us more about the cam.

is that valve lift at the cam? or at the valve?

is that duration (244) advertized duration? or at .050" duration?

Is there anything stamped on the face of the cam?
Howard 111
Samba Member

PostPosted: Thu Feb 25, 2021 7:48 am    Post subject: Re: Camshaft help Reply with quote

Being a new build, I would go with a new cam, one perfectly suited for the engine.
Sprocket78
Samba Member

PostPosted: Thu Feb 25, 2021 8:56 am    Post subject: Re: Camshaft help Reply with quote

Ok thats the lift at the cam and the duration is at. 050"
The only thing I can find by googling is a kuhltek?
Sprocket78
Samba Member

PostPosted: Thu Feb 25, 2021 8:59 am    Post subject: Re: Camshaft help Reply with quote

Howard 111 wrote:
Being a new build, I would go with a new cam, one perfectly suited for the engine.

It is a brand new unboxed camshaft, if it's any good, I'll use it.
Brian_e
Samba Member