Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Brake Reservoir Upgrade
Forum Index -> Thing/Type 181 Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
Bryan67
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sun Apr 25, 2021 8:13 pm    Post subject: Brake Reservoir Upgrade Reply with quote

The po of my 73 Thing let brake fluid leak everywhere and eat up the paint. I’m going to repaint the trunk and am not really wanting to re use the stock location again. I have a German master cylinder so the typical EMPI reservoir that sit on top of the MC won’t fit. I thought about putting the stock reservoir in the spot that an early Bug has it. But the angle of the outlet tubes isn’t really right for that. Wolfsburg West makes a 67 Bug reservoir but the outlets are too small, and I’ve had bad luck with them in the past. The outlet nuts strip easily. So now I’m contemplating a Baywindow reservoir that sits on the MC, and connecting an aluminum universal single one in the Early Bug location connected to the Bus one on the MC. Has anyone here done anything different?
74 Thing
Samba Member

PostPosted: Mon Apr 26, 2021 10:30 am    Post subject: Re: Brake Reservoir Upgrade Reply with quote

Wish I had some advise.

Yep, it sucks when there is a leak in the trunk then there goes the paint.

What are you going with your engine and tranny set up for your Thing? If they turn out anything like your bugs I am sure it will be nice.
Bryan67
Samba Member

PostPosted: Mon Apr 26, 2021 10:49 am    Post subject: Re: Brake Reservoir Upgrade Reply with quote

Well thanks for the compliments. The current plan is to build a beefed up 3.88 Type 1 gearbox, and a mild 1968cc motor with an aluminum case, 110 cam, mild ported and medium valve heads, and a set of 40 Dellorto’s. I’m trying to be patient. But I’m really looking forward to driving it.