Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

DualCarb versus FI?
Forum Index -> 411/412 Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
Deanaha
Samba Member

PostPosted: Fri May 21, 2021 5:40 pm    Post subject: DualCarb versus FI? Reply with quote

My 1971 411 was originally a FI car, then the previous owner took that out and installed dual Solex carburetors. I have the original FI set up, but should I re-install FI or keep dual Carb? It currently runs poorly, can not keep them balanced. I am not an expert by any means but would love for this car to run smoother.
MarcVoss
Samba Member

PostPosted: Fri May 21, 2021 8:55 pm    Post subject: Re: DualCarb versus FI? Reply with quote

Deanaha wrote:
My 1971 411 was originally a FI car, then the previous owner took that out and installed dual Solex carburetors. I have the original FI set up, but should I re-install FI or keep dual Carb? It currently runs poorly, can not keep them balanced. I am not an expert by any means but would love for this car to run smoother.

Do you know, why the FI have been deinstalled?
To set it up again and check all components you have to be become an expert or you have to know one. There are many issues for a poor running FI engine, thats in many cases the reason, why people remove it.
Of course, if the FI is working like new, you will love it, but you will have to keep a second set of parts and / or all tools to check the components in case of problems.
Mine 411 was also running poor when I got it 2 years ago and it took some time to fix all. Finally, with a rebuild engine it is running so much better, but it has also been an investment. And I had to do all work myself, because there hadn‘t been any expert for FI around me. Maybe in the States the FI ist more common, but you have also to find somebody for help.