Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Type 4 engine seal replacement
Forum Index -> Bay Window Bus Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
mgspeed
Samba Member

PostPosted: Wed Jun 23, 2021 10:06 am    Post subject: Type 4 engine seal replacement Reply with quote

Picking up a '72 Westy Tin Top on Friday! My last bus was the same model but with a T1 engine and that was 25 years ago.

I know that I want to replace the missing body to engine seal first. Since I'm new to the T4 world I'm wondering two things:

1) Is there a better/worse seal?
2) Can you replace the engine seal without removing the engine?

Looking at the engine removal process on https://ratwell.com/technical/EngineRemoval.html it looks like it's possible but possible doesn't always mean sensible.

Last edited by mgspeed on Wed Jun 23, 2021 10:15 am; edited 2 times in total
Xevin Premium Member
Samba Member

PostPosted: Wed Jun 23, 2021 10:12 am    Post subject: Re: Type 3 engine seal replacement Reply with quote

Might want to change this title to type4 engine seal.

Clatter wrote:
Damn that Xevin... Very Happy Very Happy Very Happy

skills@eurocarsplus wrote:
I respect Xevin and he's a turd Razz

SGKent wrote:
My God! Xevin and I 100% agree Shocked
mgspeed
Samba Member

PostPosted: Wed Jun 23, 2021 10:16 am    Post subject: Re: Type 4 engine seal replacement Reply with quote

Xevin wrote:
Might want to change this title to type4 engine seal.

Doh! Head slap!
cmonSTART
Samba Member

PostPosted: Wed Jun 23, 2021 10:27 am    Post subject: Re: Type 4 engine seal replacement Reply with quote

You can absolutely replace the seal with the engine installed - that's how it's designed. Rubber side goes down.

It's a pretty easy job.
Daverham
Samba Member