Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Battery not charging, Voltage regulator issue?
Forum Index -> Type 3 Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
shu513
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sat Jul 17, 2021 7:10 pm    Post subject: Battery not charging, Voltage regulator issue? Reply with quote

Hello. This is my first time posting, and I'd really appreciate your suggestions!!

My car is 64 Notchback converted to 12v system, and located in Japan. I have this car for 3 years, and never had charging problem until this time.
We had pretty heavy rainy season this year. I started the car when it was sunny, and the Generator Control Light on the fuel gauge unit came on and stayed on. I was just thinking that the humidity is messing with the connection somewhere, so I kept the engine running for a while to warm up and dry the system. (I don't really know if it really works or not...) After a few minutes with revving the engine up to 2000 rpm or so, the light went off, thinking everything is ok now. A week later, I started the car and the warning light stayed on and never turned off.