Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Modify NAPA group 41 battery for better fit
Page: 1, 2, 3  Next
Forum Index -> Vanagon Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
Sodo
Samba Member

PostPosted: Fri Aug 27, 2021 9:43 am    Post subject: Modify NAPA group 41 battery for better fit Reply with quote

I have some extra cables and fuses on my battery terminals, and found that the tight fit of the NAPA Group41 was taxing my connections.

So I cut off the offending plastic extremities.
I 'sanded' the extremities off with a fglapper wheel on the angle grinder.
But these mods can be done easily with a hacksaw or a multitool.
Maybe even with a drywall knife.

Note the lift strap tied around the battery.
I've been transferring this same strap to successive batteries for 16 years, but this is the first time I've cut off all the battery parts that hassle me.

It's so much easier to drop in and lift out.

Not that i have to take it out often....but more often than I prefer. Wink

Image may have been reduced in size. Click image to view fullscreen.

It also fit better by chamfering this lower engagement shelf on the rear.

Take care to stay outside of the basic rectangular case profile. Don't cut "in" or the wet stuff might come out. Shocked

'90 Westy EJ25, 2Peloquins, 3knobs, pressure-oiled GT mainshaft, filtered, cooled gearbox
'87 Tintop w 47k 53k, '12 SmallCar EJ25, cooled filtered gearbox
....KTMs, GasGas, SPOT mtb

Last edited by Sodo on Fri Aug 27, 2021 9:52 am; edited 1 time in total
vanagonjr
Samba Member

PostPosted: Fri Aug 27, 2021 9:48 am    Post subject: Re: Modify NAPA group 41 battery for better fit Reply with quote

This is why I prefer the T-5. Nice and easy to drop in. Only a little smaller, but makes a huge difference.