Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

2.0L Aircooled Vanagon cranks but won't start.
Page: 1, 2  Next
Forum Index -> Vanagon Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
Magonlia
Samba Member

PostPosted: Fri Sep 03, 2021 11:41 pm    Post subject: 2.0L Aircooled Vanagon cranks but won't start. Reply with quote

Hi all, I am new to the Samba. My name is Graeme, I just picked up my first VW and Vanagon a couple weeks ago. It is a 1983 2.0L Aircooled Vanagon Camper. I snagged it from my uncle who had it sitting on his driveway for 4 years. It was running when it was parked about that time.

The vehicle does crank but there is no power to the fuel pump at all. I've ran a direct wire to the fuel pump and yes, the fuel pump does work. I tried starting it with the direct line to the fuel pump but still nothing.

There is spark and the spark plugs look in relatively good shape.

I then moved on to injectors, i removed them from the intake and cranked it over and there was no spray... I then checked the fuel pressure at the fuel rail on the left-hand side just by attaching a hose and observing the fuel flow and it seemed like it was flowing at a significant rate with the fuel pump on.

I checked the voltage at the injectors while cranking over the engine and i was getting about 10V. Is it possible to get power to injectors without them operating, unless their clogged i suppose? I was using a multimeter to check the power to them so i couldn't tell if voltage was flickering or not.

I went through the AFC System check on 24.9 of the Bently and there were a few tests that weren't within spec. First was the head sensor test, it called for 2100-2900 ohms and i got 1620 ohms. I've read that a head sensor could also cause the injectors and fuel pump to malfunction but it's odd that there is spark.