Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Guideline for compression
Page: 1, 2  Next
Forum Index -> Performance/Engines/Transmissions Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
Paul Jr
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sun Sep 05, 2021 10:51 am    Post subject: Guideline for compression Reply with quote

Siting here fiddling with the lash caps trying to figure the best way to clearance them with a frien and he posed a good question.

Does anyone have a basic guideline on cam duration based on compression. As most know I am still learning so the best I can give is the average compression based on the known or more popular cams such as what Ballpark range will work with an FK 8 or an 86 b compared to the average engine size we see talked about here.
I know there are going to be variables but let’s say a basic guideline that will get everyone close.
UK Luke 72
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sun Sep 05, 2021 12:03 pm    Post subject: Re: Guideline for compression Reply with quote

Guidelines are kinda useless because we always read between the lines to suit our agenda.

86b was good at 10.2:1
FK10 is good at 11:1

Both in my 2276.

That's enough CR to scare most, but it works.
Paul Jr
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sun Sep 05, 2021 1:02 pm    Post subject: Re: Guideline for compression Reply with quote

So what if the cam had only 224 degrees at 50 compared to 240 compared to 250. What might be a practical guideline?

Reading between the lines might be ok for those with some experiance but what about someone like my friend who just saw a buggy and wanted to try and build something. I would assume running that 224 degree cam at 11 to 1 would be a very hot running engine and not very much fun having to stop and let it cool all the time while everyone else was out riding the trails.
UK Luke 72
Samba Member