Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Cost of 1.9 -> 2.1L engine
Page: 1, 2  Next
Forum Index -> Vanagon Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
hacklete
Samba Member

PostPosted: Thu Sep 09, 2021 12:30 pm    Post subject: Cost of 1.9 -> 2.1L engine Reply with quote

Wondering what it costs to get a 2.1L engine put into an 1984 vanagon.
Has anyone had this done lately? Not DIY but at a shop.

I'm new to the vanagon world and considering getting a 1984 with an older 1.9L engine and then putting in a new 2.1 and want to understand what it might cost.
hdenter
Samba Member

PostPosted: Thu Sep 09, 2021 1:08 pm    Post subject: Re: Cost of 1.9 -> 2.1L engine Reply with quote

You will need to find a good 2.1 core to either trade in or have rebuilt. Also, if you are going to have a rebuilt engine installed with a 2.1 block, you should think about bumping it to a 2.2. the larger piston kit only adds a few hundred dollars more and supplies a noticable bump in power over a 2.1. the good new is that you can install this new engine into your 1.9 just as you would the original engine. On the outside, they are essential the same. The case bolt that holds the intake plenum is different and you need to bend it up out of the way. As for cost, that depends on who's pre-built engine you purchase and who puts it in or what shop you hire to rebuild the core you find...

I have a 2.1 in my '85 using all the 1.9 accessories and early fuel injection. It works great.

Hans
hdenter
Samba Member

PostPosted: Thu Sep 09, 2021 1:28 pm    Post subject: Re: Cost of 1.9 -> 2.1L engine Reply with quote