Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Dual Master Cylinder - Use both brake sensors?
Forum Index -> Split Bus Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
mikelars
Samba Member

PostPosted: Mon Sep 20, 2021 5:58 pm    Post subject: Dual Master Cylinder - Use both brake sensors? Reply with quote

I have a 1966 Split, and the master cylinder was upgraded to a dual master cylinder. The brake lights have been wired through the front brakes’ sensor and the rear brake sensor has nothing connected. I recently saw an image where both sensors were used - kind of splitting the 2 wires and having them each split to one prong on each of the sensors on the master cylinder.

Do folks usually use both sensors on a dual master cylinder? I just got a second sensor boot and was going to rig up some wiring to use both, but thought I would ask here if anyone has thoughts on using one vs both sensors…

Here is my 1966 Split Bus - Restoration Channel:
https://youtube.com/channel/UCPBRysmvrJlif2wzwEwiuwQ

2332 Torque Motor Build
https://youtube.com/playlist?list=PLW_2wBCs4Ny2HwsKM9QT4LFpcSqP3QG0p

Engine Rebuild 1968cc Playlist:
https://youtube.com/playlist?list=PLW_2wBCs4Ny1JbZ2EgJQQ2awfo0koZRqz
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Gallery Classifieds Feedback
Mile High Puma
Samba Member

PostPosted: Mon Sep 20, 2021 6:55 pm    Post subject: Re: Dual Master Cylinder - Use both brake sensors? Reply with quote

I hooked them both up in parallel, figure if one quits working the other one would be the back up.
NUTSFORBUSES
Samba Member

PostPosted: Mon Sep 20, 2021 8:26 pm    Post subject: Re: Dual Master Cylinder - Use both brake sensors? Reply with quote

Mine only has One sensor
Haven't seen a dual sensor MC, maybe 66 is different?
BonTonRoulet
Samba Member