Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

FNG with my first Baja
Page: 1, 2  Next
Forum Index -> HBB Off-Road Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
Beau M
Samba Member

PostPosted: Wed Nov 17, 2021 8:00 pm    Post subject: FNG with my first Baja Reply with quote

Hello all

I've been wrenching for 20+ years and recently bought my first air cooled VW, a 71 beetle. Its got the baja fiberglass fenders etc, it was in the process of being converted to a 13b rotary when I bought it.

It's definitely a project vehicle and many months away from being on the road. I bought the bug with no engine, but have since acquired two, both in pretty rough shape. I've torn down one and it had rust on the con rods, the other I drained the oil and there was so much sand it was chunky.

I'm vacillating daily on sticking with the air cooled or do a subie swap. I'm no stranger to engine swaps, I put an LS in my 98 Tahoe and have a 68 Mustang with a Toyota 2JZ. The only real two downsides I see with the subie motor are radiator placement and oil pan clearance, even with the shortened ones. If I stay VW it will probably end up being more $$$ and I'll have less HP.

I'm not even sure what I'm getting at here. A couple ???s

Is the subie pan clearance a huge issue off-road? The bug will mostly be seeing logging roads and trails in WA, occasional sand.

I just don't know what to do. With my current junk it most likely involves a machine shop and a bunch of new parts. With a subie engine I can get a low mileage one with a warranty and plop it in. Sure I need the adapter and wire harness and all that, but the needed parts for the VW add up real fast.

Anyway, here's the car.

Image may have been reduced in size. Click image to view fullscreen.

Engine #1 I tore down, must have had a lot of moisture