Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

67 Bus Engine Decision
Page: 1, 2  Next
Forum Index -> Split Bus Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
67splittwist
Samba Member

PostPosted: Fri Nov 19, 2021 7:23 am    Post subject: 67 Bus Engine Decision Reply with quote

I am new to the VW world and am trying to learn as much as I can. I recently picked up a 67 Deluxe to restore. It is in need of an engine. I have done alot of research and am trying to figure out what my best option is. The bus will mainly be driven in town and on day/weekend excursions. I would like to keep it looking as factory as possible. I know that a 1500 is stock and I am okay with sticking with that. From what Ive read, a 1600 is 'identical' looking and a little better performance wise. I have recently run across a AH coded 1600 (73-74) out of a type 1. I am thinking that I am going to have to find a type 1 1600 as type 2 engines are harder to come across. It is stuck at the moment and it is dual port. I would assume that it has the dual oil relief. Most forums I read indicate that the torque of the single port is better than the top end gains of a dual port when it comes to a bus. One of my questions is, do I buy the AH for the dual oil relief, doghouse oil cooler and change it to a single port? I assume it would just need different heads, intake, carb and tins? Would it be better to keep searching for a factory 1600 single port? Unless I find one from a type 2, I believe 1970 was the only year the type 1 was a 1600 single port....but then I dont believe I would have the dual oil relief?? I am looking for input on which way to go. Search for a 1500 or factory 1600 single port? Take the 1600 dual port and change to single port? Run the 1600 dual port? I have read numerous posts on this topic, but cant quite com