Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Oil and grime on everything
Page: 1, 2  Next
Forum Index -> Bay Window Bus Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
Everpress
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sat Dec 04, 2021 11:12 am    Post subject: Oil and grime on everything Reply with quote

I have a 69 Bay, 1600sp. The lower end is a Mexican block, top end has been modified for EI, no name distributor, crappy Empi carb, and I’m in the process of trying to get the thing roadworthy for some family camping trips, and maybe as a daily driver.

My background: I am not a mechanic. I have been guilty of “making it work”, and have had that bite me in the ass. That said, I was planning on rebuilding the carb (done it before years ago and enjoyed the process), replacing the generator with an alternator (eventually plan to install a leisure battery and wanted to not rely on a Gen, though I’ve heard you can).

As I started digging into the bus, I found some fun things the PO did that had me scratching my head… a ton of “making it work”… but not really. And I remembered they had split the case and installed an EMPI racing cam. I don’t know much about it, but after seeing previous work, I wanted to dig in as far as I need to… taking an engine out of a VW is too easy, so after following a ton of threads, I bought a 2ton HB stand and an adapter from one of the members here, used a 1500lb atv lift and ripped the engine out.

Oil in the bell housing, oil on the teeth of the flywheel, oil and grime all over the bottom of the engine… I’m already looking at replacing the seal behind the flywheel and checking the oil throwing gear block… does anyone have anything to add? I have relied on the Hanes, ratwell, and so many here on the forums, so I hope you guys have some wisdom to throw my way!