Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

57 Canadian Oval - 2022 project
Page: 1, 2, 3  Next
Forum Index -> Beetle - Oval-Window - 1953-57 Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
Mayall57
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sat Feb 26, 2022 8:29 pm    Post subject: 57 Canadian Oval - 2022 project Reply with quote

Hello Oval community,

An opportunity presented itself and as you can see by the pictures, I jumped on it. I am a newbie beetle owner and not as mechanically capable as I would like to be but have committed to taking care of this car. I have a full schedule for any free time I happen to get to learn, read and and sort out this new to me 57 Oval. I am excited to see where it goes and appreciative of the information found in this forum. For now I am sorting through a proper strategy for a car like this and having a reputable local shop give me a professional assessment of its state. Here is a few pictures for now.

Image may have been reduced in size. Click image to view fullscreen.

janerick3
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sat Feb 26, 2022 9:29 pm    Post subject: Re: 57 Canadian Oval - 2022 project Reply with quote

This car is Preservation Class material, it's that original.

If the shop tries to sell you a full restoration, walk away.

Was this car originally sold in Montreal?
Mayall57
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sat Feb 26, 2022 9:53 pm    Post subject: Re: 57 Canadian Oval - 2022 project Reply with quote

I believe it was originally from Edmonton but not certain at the moment.

It’s almost entirely original as best I can tell. Originals glass, body and cloth interior, head liner ect. Has all the original handles, knobs and chrome I believe. The motor is 57 but not original. Front is weathered more than the rest of the car but only one soft rust spot by the drivers side jack stand.