Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com
 
VW SP2 Ammeter wiring help
Forum Index -> Other VW Vehicles/Volksrods Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Print View
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
SPTom
Samba Member


Joined: December 30, 2021
Posts: 4
Location: São José dos Campos --SP Brasil
SPTom is offline 

PostPosted: Fri Oct 07, 2022 5:18 pm    Post subject: VW SP2 Ammeter wiring help Reply with quote

Hi gang,
I'm trying to correctly wire my ammeter according to this electrical schematic. I'm looking at the thick red wires labeled 6.0 (don't know if that's mm or AWG or what-- if anyone can help me with that I'd appreciate it!)

According to the schematic, the Ammeter (J4) is connected between the battery (A) and switch panel F, which then goes to the fuse box (S) where it meets the alternator (C).

So far, makes sense; however, there is a parallel wire that goes straight from the battery to the panel (F). This second path seems to create a path from the alternator to the battery which bypasses the ammeter. Assuming an ideal ammeter and equal resistances of the two paths, the ammeter would only see half the current. Does VW normally design that way?

Would it be a bad idea to wire it the "normal" way? (I.e., just have one path from the alternator to the battery via the ammeter).

Thanks for taking a look!

Image may have been reduced in size. Click image to view fullscreen.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Gallery Classifieds Feedback
slayer61
Samba Member


Joined: June 01, 2021
Posts: 589
Location: CA
slayer61 is offline 

PostPosted: Thu Oct 13, 2022 1:31 pm    Post subject: Re: VW SP2 Ammeter wiring help Reply with quote

SPTom,
You have it figured out. If you put the 2 circuits in parallel, and all other things being equal, current will split evenly. If, as reality is, the amp meter has any resistance greater than the "other" circuit, no current will flow through the meter.


Use the existing wire to your advantage & enable your amp meter to function as it should. Just connect the dots!
_________________
Cusser wrote:

... Most folks are idiots when it deals with electrical !!!
Paul
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger Facebook Twitter Instagram Gallery Classifieds Feedback
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Forum Index -> Other VW Vehicles/Volksrods All times are Mountain Standard Time/Pacific Daylight Savings Time
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

About | Help! | Advertise | Donate | Premium Membership | Privacy/Terms of Use | Contact Us | Site Map
Copyright © 1996-2020, Everett Barnes. All Rights Reserved.
Not affiliated with or sponsored by Volkswagen of America | Forum powered by phpBB