Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

My 72 Squareback ... Where do I begin?
Page: 1, 2  Next
Forum Index -> Type 3 Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
Grace Brother
Samba Member

PostPosted: Fri Oct 14, 2022 7:03 am    Post subject: My 72 Squareback ... Where do I begin? Reply with quote

Hi, I'm new to the Samba and have been reading posts throughout the summer.
I bought this car earlier this spring while shopping for a bug that I could use as a daily driver.
Originally from CA, the seller had rebuilt the engine, added dual carbs, an oil cooler, fuel pump, and welded up a Flowmaster exhaust, among other mods.
It kind of has a Pep Boys hot rod feel to it.

I had a local vintage VW shop do a comprehensive inspection and paid a lot of money for amounted to a minor tune-up and cautionary advice about people with "golden screwdivers".

The car drives great and I look forward to dialing it in further.

I need to figure out the electric fuel pump. Why does it have a dash on/off switch?
Why did they mount the oil filter like that? So close to heat!

I have so many questions. Please send me some advice!

Image may have been reduced in size. Click image to view fullscreen.

View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Gallery Classifieds Feedback
andybla
Samba Member

PostPosted: Fri Oct 14, 2022 7:15 am    Post subject: Re: My 72 Squareback ... Where do I begin? Reply with quote

actually it is not that close to heat because the fan shroud is blowing cooling air directly on your filter that would normalle be used for your interior blowers...
W1K1
Samba Member

PostPosted: Fri Oct 14, 2022 7:20 am    Post subject: Re: My 72 Squareback ... Where do I begin? Reply with quote

that is cool air from your fan, they should be capped if you aren't using the heat exchangers