Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

You just never know
Page: 1, 2  Next
Forum Index -> Off Topic Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
Zundfolge1432 Premium Member
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sun Dec 25, 2022 10:24 am    Post subject: You just never know Reply with quote

I’ve been driving past this for over 30 years and never gave it any thought and why would I ? It appears to be vacant land but back in the late 60s early 70s it was a trash dump. That’s ok but now that this area is building up and being developed someone dropped a dime to the EPA and reported radioactive waste had been dumped here with no regard. Sure enough the Govt came down took samples and confirmed it. They quietly cordoned off the area and went to work. This went on for weeks and nobody knew what was going on but as always word leaked to the press and now it’s an EPA superfund clean up site. The government solution here ? Remove some of the dirt and cover the whole area with clay to just seal it off. No doubt there are many more areas around the country just like this but with the passage of time they are forgotten. https://www.fox23.com/news/epa-works-cover-thousan...TNANCGBTM/
Image may have been reduced in size. Click image to view fullscreen.

It occurred to me using an antiquated term “dropping a dime” might not be understood by anyone under 40. It pertains to using pay phones and making a 10 cent call 😀

Last edited by Zundfolge1432 on Sun Dec 25, 2022 1:16 pm; edited 1 time in total
RedRobster
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sun Dec 25, 2022 10:48 am    Post subject: Re: You just never know Reply with quote

I don't think it meant that to "dime bag" Darrel? but I got the riff!

Yeah those sites are all over, there was one around here called BRIO