Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Transaxle stand
Page: 1, 2  Next
Forum Index -> Vanagon Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
tjet Premium Member
Samba Member

PostPosted: Fri Jan 13, 2023 2:29 pm    Post subject: Transaxle stand Reply with quote

What do you guys recommend for a transaxle stand for a trans rebuild? Do they make an adapter for an engine stand?

Or would this be a better option?

https://www.amazon.com/Original-Tubster-Extra-Larg...&psc=1
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Gallery Classifieds Feedback
MarkWard
Samba Member

PostPosted: Fri Jan 13, 2023 3:23 pm    Post subject: Re: Transaxle stand Reply with quote

I have done a syncro and 091/1 transaxle without a stand. If I were doing them for a living a stand would be helpful. The more important tool is the one that bolts across differential case for setup. I fabricated that. I used my bench till I was ready to drop the differential case back on. I use a bbq grill to heat the case to ease in assembly.
tjet Premium Member
Samba Member

PostPosted: Fri Jan 13, 2023 3:46 pm    Post subject: Re: Transaxle stand Reply with quote

Thanks.

Do you have a p/n for that tool? Also, any other must-have tools for a transaxle rebuild?

This is in reference to my trans failure in New Mexico

https://www.thesamba.com/vw/forum/viewtopic.php?t=...p;start=41
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Gallery Classifieds Feedback
Sodo
Samba Member

PostPosted: Fri Jan 13, 2023 4:25 pm    Post subject: Re: Transaxle stand Reply with quote

Image may have been reduced in size. Click image to view fullscreen.

I built this for a friend, laying on my back, under the van....

Luckily it turned out to work very well in the shop!

Note those four nubs that this unit grabs onto.