Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

themostat position sensor
Page: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Forum Index -> Performance/Engines/Transmissions Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
volkaholic1
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sat Jan 14, 2023 1:19 pm    Post subject: themostat position sensor Reply with quote

i have an ad on the samba, but this is a good place to discuss this invention

i am a big believer in running thermostat flaps on air cooled street VW. I have invented a sensor that mounts to the stat bracket and reads back a voltage to a small gauge, 0= closed, 12v= full open, 67v= half open, you get the idea. so if you are a total tech / engine geak, you will like this.

basics you get the sensor, the gauge and 2 mounting brackets
this will work on all type 1 and type iv engines

i can supply a new stat if needed
i can supply any stat parts needed
i can supply dual air temp gauges if needed, i like to measure actual air temp going into the engine and actual air temp at the stat

i have learned alot so far, in a stock bug, the incoming air is heated 30-40F before going into the engine! yep
temp at the stat runs around 200-210F, keeps it all nice an dry

when driving under "normal" conditions, i can watch the stat slowly cycle, as it controls the temp of the engine. pretty neat to watch, i have never seen my stat go full open.
virusdoc
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sat Jan 14, 2023 1:30 pm    Post subject: Re: themostat position sensor Reply with quote

volkaholic1 wrote:
i have an ad on the samba, but this is a good place to discuss this invention