Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Cracked the block on the EJ and unsure how to proceed
Page: 1, 2  Next
Forum Index -> Vanagon Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
dustino
Samba Member

PostPosted: Wed Jan 18, 2023 10:38 pm    Post subject: Cracked the block on the EJ and unsure how to proceed Reply with quote

Hello friends. Long time lurker, first time poster.

I've been prepping my EJ to drop in the van (hoping to start a build thread at some point). This is my first time doing a project this intense, though I'm fairly mechanically inclined and have a few years experience maintaining the water boxer so I'm not exactly new.

Well things were going swimmingly until I broke two bolts in the block while trying to pull the coolant manifold.

Image may have been reduced in size. Click image to view fullscreen.

Today I tried to get them out with a bolt extractor. Not only did it not work, but I cracked the block around the bolt hole.

I consider this the limit of my own skill set and don't quite know how to proceed. I'd like to think it's salvageable given it's local to that one spot for a bolt that doesn't need to be torqued that tight.

I guess my questions are:
1. Is this fixable and
2. Who does one call to fix something like this?
vanis13
Samba Member

PostPosted: Wed Jan 18, 2023 10:52 pm    Post subject: Re: Cracked the block on the EJ and unsure how to proceed Reply with quote

1 yes

several approaches...

the first one I'd use is to JB weld an stud in there and use a bolt on top.

if that fails, it will not make any of the other solutions harder which my include to remove the loose pieces and weld-fill with a blob and shape/drill/tap it.

2 IDK