Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Advisable to open/rebuild transaxle if no known issues?
Forum Index -> Beetle - 1958-1967 Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
BanjoMan64
Samba Member

PostPosted: Thu May 25, 2023 2:00 pm    Post subject: Advisable to open/rebuild transaxle if no known issues? Reply with quote

This is my first restoration, and I’m still very new to everything. I’ve been rebuilding a 64’ beetle for the last two years. I have the body off the chassis right now, and I’m wondering if I should open up the transaxle. The car was running and driving before I starting rebuilding it and didn’t seem to have any issues shifting into all four gears.

I have some mechanic friends telling me that I should open up the transaxle and check for any wear while it’s out and accessible. However, I also have other mechanic friends telling me that if there aren’t any issues I should leave it be and save myself the hassle of rebuilding it. Neither of these friends have worked on beetles, though.

What is typically advisable in this instance? Is there anything on the transaxle that should be routinely replaced/inspected? Or should I leave it until it gives me cause for concern?
SLO-N-LO-69
Samba Member

PostPosted: Thu May 25, 2023 2:08 pm    Post subject: Re: Advisable to open/rebuild transaxle if no known issues? Reply with quote

The trans and engine are the only part of my 73 I didn't rebuild after a 5 year sit. They ran fine before so I threw them back in and everything is fine to this day. I would leave it alone.
Cusser
Samba Member

PostPosted: Thu May 25, 2023 2:29 pm    Post subject: Re: Advisable to open/rebuild transaxle if no known issues? Reply with quote

SLO-N-LO-69 wrote: