Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Questions about engine parts
Page: 1, 2, 3  Next
Forum Index -> Beetle - 1958-1967 Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
DanaJT
Samba Member

PostPosted: Fri May 26, 2023 6:12 pm    Post subject: Questions about engine parts Reply with quote

So I have a few questions. As I'm pulling apart my engine I am wondering about the part marked in yellow. What is that? I obviously need a new one.

Also you can see the fan shroud and below where the engine meets the wall there is a big gap. Is that normal? I can't remember from when the engine was in good shape. With the fire things look way different to me and I'm a newbie trying to replace the outer parts of the engine. Smile

Image may have been reduced in size. Click image to view fullscreen.

View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Gallery Classifieds Feedback
Glenn Premium Member
Mr. 010

PostPosted: Fri May 26, 2023 6:22 pm    Post subject: Re: Questions about engine parts Reply with quote

Fire?

It's the oil pressure sender.

Member #1009

#BlueSquare
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Gallery Classifieds Feedback
RustPatch
Samba Member

PostPosted: Fri May 26, 2023 6:41 pm    Post subject: Re: Questions about engine parts Reply with quote

Rubber seal filled the gap between body and engine tin.
Glenn Premium Member
Mr. 010

PostPosted: Fri May 26, 2023 6:42 pm    Post subject: Re: Questions about engine parts Reply with quote

RustPatch wrote:
Rubber seal filled the gap between body and engine tin.

Rubber burns in a fire Wink

Member #1009

#BlueSquare
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Gallery Classifieds Feedback
cbeck
Samba Member