Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

'87 Vanagon won't start hot, drips gas
Forum Index -> Vanagon Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
Fulcrum
Samba Member

PostPosted: Mon Sep 20, 2004 1:28 am    Post subject: '87 Vanagon won't start hot, drips gas Reply with quote

Howdy all,
I was hoping I some of you might help me figure this out, although I realize these things are tough to diagnose. The latest suggestion has been to replace the fuel injectors. One can get them tested, no? I am a learning novice and appoligize for my lack of knowledge. It is an '87 2.1L with automatic trans.
The van would start fine if it had not been running for a while (i.e. cold). But if i attempted to start it after if had been recently running, the starter would turn, but the engine would not catch. Oddly, while this happened, the needle of the tachometer would "bounce" up and down, or sometimes just bounce up to the top of the scale and stick there until I turned the key back to the off position. After trying to start it for a bit, gasoline would drip from the driver side manifold area, and it would be flooded. Occcasionally the engine would almost catch, and if I was especially persistant (pumping the gas pedal), and it was not too soon after it was last running, it would turn over. For a while this problem was steady, and I would have to wait about 30 minutes after a run to start it again. In the last week or so before it stopped altogether, I would have to wait more like twelve hours to start it.

So currently I have this van in Portland and am considering selling it. If anyone here is interested in taking on this problem, It is in great shape otherwise. 95,000 miles and zero rust. Contact me for more info if interested. Thanks for your time.

The Fulcrum