TheSamba.com Forums

View original topic: Water and sediment in old engine- Is it salvageable?Or worth it? Page: 1, 2  Next
Munden5 Mon Oct 03, 2022 1:29 pm

Hi everybody,
This is my first post and it’s probably in the wrong place so please forgive me. I bought a 1966 VW beetle and the engine was out. Although it’s a 6 volt engine It’s doesn’t appear to be a 1300. According to the location of the serial number(on the top by the generator base) and not below it, it looks to be an engine from maybe a Type 3?
Anyway, The engine spins freely and I was going to try to start it once it’s back in the vehicle. I went to drop the oil and found tons of sludge, sediment and water. The water came out first…then the funky oil and sediment( see pics).
My questions is this. Should I even try to start this engine? Should the engine just be considered toast? Or is there something I can put in the crankcase to clean it up…then put new oil in it?
I’m not a mechanic but I can and do repairs on my own cars and my daughters 1970 VW beetle.
Let me know your thoughts!

Thanks,
Travis

Vanapplebomb Mon Oct 03, 2022 1:32 pm

Pop the valve covers off. If the valve springs have any rust at all, I wouldn’t try and start/run it. Very high risk of scattering the entire engine when a valve spring breaks while running. You may well have a number of good useable parts there for a rebuild, but I wouldn’t gamble it all on a rusty valve spring.

vwracerdave Mon Oct 03, 2022 1:34 pm

With all those solid chunks in the filter something is going wrong inside the engine. I'd tear it apart for a full inspection.

RCP Phx Mon Oct 03, 2022 1:47 pm

Between the oil filter screen and the outside photo the only way to tell is to split the case!

Munden5 Mon Oct 03, 2022 2:16 pm

[

quote="Vanapplebomb"]