Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Tiico or Subie - new info
Page: 1, 2  Next
Forum Index -> Vanagon Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
beteljuze
Samba Member

PostPosted: Fri Apr 13, 2007 4:50 pm    Post subject: Tiico or Subie - new info Reply with quote

I was a Ford Tech for 20 years when the dealership closed.I started as a tech at a place called Legend,where we sell Porsches,Audi's and Vw's.Started here about 6 weeks ago.I drive a 88 Vanagon Westy,A 79 Westy,and a 84 Porsche 911.Theres a coupla older techs here that worked on everything Volkswagen ever made.They all hate the Vanagon-think its the worst thing Vw put out.Anyway,the point of the story-I showed them the Subie and the Tiico conversions,and asked which was better.I was really surprised-they readily agreed the Subie motor was way better suited for the Vanagon(and these are die hard german is better than jap stuff guys!)They said that Volkswagen has not used the Tiico block in a car since 1990,and it is a non-crossflow design.It is way behind in modern technology.In fact,most of the techs here said they would rather buy a rebuilt wbx before they would even touch the Tiico.(By the way-the "rebuilt'' wbx from the dealer is actually a new one-not rebuilt)They agreed the Subie is a modern,easily fixable engine,and they all said its the better choice.I showed them the Tiico website and the East Coast Vanagon website.They loved the turn key Subie Conversion.The other engine they would pick is the 1.8T out of a Jetta or GTI-like the Vanagon on the Vwvortex site.Don't mean to offend any Tiico people-I still drive my wbx with 180k miles-I just thought this would be interesting.
Captain Pike
Samba Member

PostPosted: Fri Apr 13, 2007 6:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote